Component
Carotid plaque area
3 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.
How nutrients influence it
Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.
Other things that act on it
Enzymes, hormones, genes, and other components with a recorded effect. These are not nutrients, so they do not count toward the arrows above. Each finding names the chapter that recorded it.
How nutrients reach it in more than one step
Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.
Tracing routes…
What it does
Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.
What acts on it
In a retrospective cohort of 1,062 participants, 10,800 FU per day for 12 months was followed by reduced carotid intima-media thickness and carotid plaque size, with improvement rates of 66.5 to 95.4%.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- 12 months
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human (1,062 outpatients)
- exposure
- Nattokinase, 10,800 FU per day
- limitations
- Uncontrolled and retrospective, with selection and regression-to-the-mean risk, self-reported lifestyle data and manufacturer-employed authors. Causal inference from it is low certainty. The effect sizes are far larger than the randomized trials at lower doses found, which is the pattern a dose threshold would produce and also the pattern uncontrolled design produces.
- organism
- Human (1,062 outpatients)
- plain_language
- In a retrospective cohort of 1,062 participants, 10,800 FU per day for 12 months was followed by reduced carotid intima-media thickness and carotid plaque size, with improvement rates of 66.5 to 95.4%.
- primary_references
- Effective management of atherosclerosis progress and hyperlipidemia with nattokinase: A clinical study with 1,062 participants. (2022) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36072877/ DOI: 10.3389/fcvm.2022.964977 Correction on record: Erratum in: Front Cardiovasc Med. 2022 Dec 05;9:1076420. doi: 10.3389/fcvm.2022.1076420. PMID 36545015.
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Carotid artery imaging and blood lipids
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1148–1148
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (1,062 outpatients) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
In a retrospective cohort of 1,062 participants, 10,800 FU per day for 12 months was followed by reduced carotid intima-media thickness and carotid plaque size, with improvement rates of 66.5 to 95.4%.
Complete structured claim and evidenceAt 6,000 FU per day for 26 weeks, carotid plaque area fell 36.6% against 11.5% in the simvastatin arm, with plaque area falling from 0.25 to 0.16 square centimetres and intima-media thickness from 1.13 to 1.01 mm.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- 26 weeks
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human (82 enrolled, 76 completed: 39 nattokinase, 37 statin)
- exposure
- Nattokinase 6,000 FU per day against simvastatin 20 mg per day
- limitations
- Randomized in allocation but open-label with no placebo, single-centre, and reported in Chinese. An active comparator that also works makes a between-arm difference hard to read, and the imaging endpoints are surrogates.
- organism
- Human (82 enrolled, 76 completed: 39 nattokinase, 37 statin)
- plain_language
- At 6,000 FU per day for 26 weeks, carotid plaque area fell 36.6% against 11.5% in the simvastatin arm, with plaque area falling from 0.25 to 0.16 square centimetres and intima-media thickness from 1.13 to 1.01 mm.
- primary_references
- [A clinical study on the effect of nattokinase on carotid artery atherosclerosis and hyperlipidaemia]. (2017) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28763875/ DOI: 10.3760/cma.j.issn.0376-2491.2017.26.005
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Common carotid artery ultrasound
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1181–1181
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (82 enrolled, 76 completed: 39 nattokinase, 37 statin) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
At 6,000 FU per day for 26 weeks, carotid plaque area fell 36.6% against 11.5% in the simvastatin arm, with plaque area falling from 0.25 to 0.16 square centimetres and intima-media thickness from 1.13 to 1.01 mm.
Complete structured claim and evidenceThe lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- 26 weeks
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers)
- exposure
- Nattokinase 6,000 FU per day
- limitations
- A within-arm correlation of r = 0.35 at p = 0.09, which is an absence of detected correlation in a small sample rather than established independence. The authors read it as showing a mechanism separate from lipid lowering.
- organism
- Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers)
- plain_language
- The lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
- primary_references
- [A clinical study on the effect of nattokinase on carotid artery atherosclerosis and hyperlipidaemia]. (2017) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28763875/ DOI: 10.3760/cma.j.issn.0376-2491.2017.26.005
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Carotid imaging against blood lipids
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1203–1203
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
The lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
Complete structured claim and evidence
The events it takes part in
A mechanism often involves more than two components. These are the full events, with every participant and its role.
Situations it appears in
Low-supply and faulty-machinery situations recorded in the chapters where this component plays a part.
In the sources
Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.
Open hypotheses
Proposed ideas that involve this component. They are labeled as hypotheses and do not change any recorded statement.
This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.