Component
Blood low-density lipoprotein cholesterol concentration
3 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.
How nutrients influence it
Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.
Other things that act on it
Enzymes, hormones, genes, and other components with a recorded effect. These are not nutrients, so they do not count toward the arrows above. Each finding names the chapter that recorded it.
How nutrients reach it in more than one step
Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.
Tracing routes…
What it does
Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.
What it acts on
The lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- 26 weeks
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers)
- exposure
- Nattokinase 6,000 FU per day
- limitations
- A within-arm correlation of r = 0.35 at p = 0.09, which is an absence of detected correlation in a small sample rather than established independence. The authors read it as showing a mechanism separate from lipid lowering.
- organism
- Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers)
- plain_language
- The lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
- primary_references
- [A clinical study on the effect of nattokinase on carotid artery atherosclerosis and hyperlipidaemia]. (2017) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28763875/ DOI: 10.3760/cma.j.issn.0376-2491.2017.26.005
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Carotid imaging against blood lipids
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1203–1203
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (39 nattokinase-arm completers) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
The lipid-lowering seen in the nattokinase arm did not correlate with the reduction in intima-media thickness or plaque area.
Complete structured claim and evidence
What acts on it
A nattokinase-only formula showed no effect on blood lipids through six months, while the same enzyme combined with red yeast rice improved every lipid measured from month one.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- 6 months
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human (47 patients with hyperlipidemia in three arms)
- exposure
- Nattokinase 50 mg per capsule, two capsules twice daily, alone or with 300 mg red yeast rice extract
- limitations
- Randomized, double-blind and placebo-controlled but small. The combination arm cannot attribute anything to the nattokinase, since red yeast rice contains monacolin K. The mono-arm null is the informative part.
- organism
- Human (47 patients with hyperlipidemia in three arms)
- plain_language
- A nattokinase-only formula showed no effect on blood lipids through six months, while the same enzyme combined with red yeast rice improved every lipid measured from month one.
- primary_references
- Combined nattokinase with red yeast rice but not nattokinase alone has potent effects on blood lipids in human subjects with hyperlipidemia. (2009) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19786378/
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Blood lipids
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1214–1214
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (47 patients with hyperlipidemia in three arms) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
A nattokinase-only formula showed no effect on blood lipids through six months, while the same enzyme combined with red yeast rice improved every lipid measured from month one.
Complete structured claim and evidenceAt relatively low total dosage the pooled mean difference in low-density lipoprotein cholesterol was +6.49 against control.
Experimental context and source evidence
- duration
- Trial durations differ
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- experimental_model
- Human, meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
- exposure
- Nattokinase supplementation
- limitations
- Wide interval (0.83 to 12.15). No significant difference at high dosage.
- organism
- Human, meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
- plain_language
- At relatively low total dosage the pooled mean difference in low-density lipoprotein cholesterol was +6.49 against control.
- primary_references
- Nattokinase Supplementation and Cardiovascular Risk Factors: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. (2023) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39076715/ DOI: 10.31083/j.rcm2408234
- route
- In vivo, oral
- tissue
- Blood lipids
Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1082–1082
Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human, meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
At relatively low total dosage the pooled mean difference in low-density lipoprotein cholesterol was +6.49 against control.
Complete structured claim and evidence
The events it takes part in
A mechanism often involves more than two components. These are the full events, with every participant and its role.
Situations it appears in
Low-supply and faulty-machinery situations recorded in the chapters where this component plays a part.
In the sources
Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.
Open hypotheses
Proposed ideas that involve this component. They are labeled as hypotheses and do not change any recorded statement.
This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.