Component

Serum C-reactive protein concentration

Serum C-reactive protein concentration. Species, exposure and limitations are retained in each linked claim.

3 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.

How nutrients influence it

Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.

How nutrients reach it in more than one step

Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.

Tracing routes…

What it does

Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.

Recorded relationships

What acts on it

  1. Atorvastatin significantly reduced high-sensitivity C-reactive protein alongside the reduction in cholesterol.

    Atorvastatin → Serum C-reactive protein concentration source_derived_draftungraded
    Experimental context and source evidence
    duration
    16 weeks
    evidence_access
    Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    experimental_model
    84 Japanese type 2 diabetic patients with hypercholesterolaemia
    exposure
    Atorvastatin for 16 weeks
    limitations
    An inflammatory marker falling alongside cholesterol in an open-label study does not separate an effect on inflammation from an effect of lower lipids.
    organism
    84 Japanese type 2 diabetic patients with hypercholesterolaemia
    plain_language
    Atorvastatin significantly reduced high-sensitivity C-reactive protein alongside the reduction in cholesterol.
    primary_references
    Atorvastatin lowers plasma low-density lipoprotein cholesterol and C-reactive protein in Japanese type 2 diabetic patients. (2006). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16324921/ DOI: 10.1016/j.metabol.2005.07.017
    route
    Oral
    tissue
    High-sensitivity C-reactive protein, with plasminogen activator inhibitor 1, monocyte chemotactic protein 1 and interleukin 6 also measured

    Atorvastatin: mechanism of action from target occupancy to isoprenoids, transport, muscle and metabolism (2026-09-22) · lines 45–54

    Original AI-assisted curation of twelve primary studies resolved by PubMed title search and cross-checked against live PubMed metadata. Findings obtained with mevastatin, simvastatin or the statin class are recorded against those subjects. Study-specific citations, doses, negative findings and limitations retained. Not publisher full text. · supports · · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    ## atorvastatin-c-reactive-protein Atorvastatin significantly reduced high-sensitivity C-reactive protein alongside the reduction in cholesterol. Model/species: 84 Japanese type 2 diabetic patients with hypercholesterolaemia Tissue/system: High-sensitivity C-reactive protein, with plasminogen activator inhibitor 1, monocyte chemotactic protein 1 and interleukin 6 also measured Exposure: Atorvastatin for 16 weeks Route: Oral Duration: 16 weeks Limits: An inflammatory marker falling alongside cholesterol in an open-label study does not separate an effect on inflammation from an effect of lower lipids. Primary reference: Atorvastatin lowers plasma low-density lipoprotein cholesterol and C-reactive protein in Japanese type 2 diabetic patients. (2006). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16324921/ DOI: 10.1016/j.metabol.2005.07.017 Access: Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    Complete structured claim and evidence
  2. The three-mineral regimen reduced serum CRP relative to placebo despite the lack of improvement in the measured metabolic-risk components.

    Chromium → Serum C-reactive protein concentration source_derived_draftungraded
    Experimental context and source evidence
    evidence_span
    {"source_cache": "artifacts/chromium-research/29773176.abstract.txt", "locator": "Exact primary indexed abstract; zero-based, end-exclusive Unicode character offsets", "file_sha256": "6107419f3b2f125a5a9971f56f24c1bd454a97512ef432f154c79d26b85c1067", "start_char": 0, "end_char": 1208, "text_sha256": "6107419f3b2f125a5a9971f56f24c1bd454a97512ef432f154c79d26b85c1067"}
    experimental_model
    Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trial; 32 adults
    exposure
    24 weeks: 300 mg magnesium, 600 µg chromium and 36 mg zinc daily versus placebo
    limitations
    Only the three-mineral combination was tested; individual effects and synergy cannot be separated. Small sample and multiple endpoints.
    nutrient_topic
    Chromium research collection; topical membership is not evidence of a direct dietary effect. · Chromium
    organism
    Human with metabolic syndrome
    plain_language
    An inflammation marker changed even though the main metabolic measures did not.
    primary_references
    [chromium-p29773176] Effects of zinc, magnesium, and chromium supplementation on cardiometabolic risk in adults with metabolic syndrome: A double-blind, placebo-controlled randomised trial. (2018). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29773176/ DOI: 10.1016/j.jtemb.2018.03.022
    tissue_or_cell_type
    Metabolic-risk endpoints and CRP

    Chromium: transport, insulin signaling, nutrient interactions and essentiality debate (2026-09-17) · lines 640–651

    AI-assisted literature curation; primary study URLs and scope retained in the document and extraction. Not publisher full text. · supports · Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trial; 32 adults · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    ### chromium-triple-mineral-crp The three-mineral regimen reduced serum CRP relative to placebo despite the lack of improvement in the measured metabolic-risk components. Condition category: normal nutrient_topic: Chromium research collection; topical membership is not evidence of a direct dietary effect. plain_language: An inflammation marker changed even though the main metabolic measures did not. organism: Human with metabolic syndrome tissue_or_cell_type: Metabolic-risk endpoints and CRP experimental_model: Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trial; 32 adults limitations: Only the three-mineral combination was tested; individual effects and synergy cannot be separated. Small sample and multiple endpoints. exposure: 24 weeks: 300 mg magnesium, 600 µg chromium and 36 mg zinc daily versus placebo evidence_span: {"source_cache": "artifacts/chromium-research/29773176.abstract.txt", "locator": "Exact primary indexed abstract; zero-based, end-exclusive Unicode character offsets", "file_sha256": "6107419f3b2f125a5a9971f56f24c1bd454a97512ef432f154c79d26b85c1067", "start_char": 0, "end_char": 1208, "text_sha256": "6107419f3b2f125a5a9971f56f24c1bd454a97512ef432f154c79d26b85c1067"} [chromium-p29773176] Effects of zinc, magnesium, and chromium supplementation on cardiometabolic risk in adults with metabolic syndrome: A double-blind, placebo-controlled randomised trial. (2018). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29773176/ DOI: 10.1016/j.jtemb.2018.03.022
    Complete structured claim and evidence
  3. The pilot reported improved CRP and other measured inflammatory markers with calcium fructoborate compared with placebo over about two weeks.

    Experimental context and source evidence
    evidence_span
    {"source_cache": "artifacts/boron-research/21607703.abstract.txt", "locator": "Exact primary indexed abstract; zero-based, end-exclusive Unicode character offsets", "file_sha256": "791318eaf72d7d13719549d6c655fa4023ebe6b5582776b785db1d403456a35d", "start_char": 0, "end_char": 1236, "text_sha256": "791318eaf72d7d13719549d6c655fa4023ebe6b5582776b785db1d403456a35d"}
    experimental_model
    Randomized placebo-controlled double-blind pilot in knee osteoarthritis
    exposure
    Approximately 15 days calcium-fructoborate supplementation; 116 recruited, 72 started and 60 completed
    limitations
    Short pilot with attrition and biomarker outcomes; it does not establish cartilage repair, disease modification or equivalence of all boron compounds.
    nutrient_topic
    Boron research collection; topical membership is not evidence of a direct dietary effect. · Boron
    organism
    Human
    plain_language
    The trial reported changes in blood markers; it did not show that damaged joints were rebuilt.
    primary_references
    [boron-p21607703] A double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot study to evaluate the effect of calcium fructoborate on systemic inflammation and dyslipidemia markers for middle-aged people with primary osteoarthritis. (2011). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21607703/ DOI: 10.1007/s12011-011-9083-0
    tissue_or_cell_type
    Blood inflammatory markers

    Boron: chemistry, nutrient interactions, low-intake studies and mechanistic uncertainties (2026-09-17) · lines 1054–1065

    AI-assisted literature curation; primary study URLs and scope retained in the document and extraction. Not publisher full text. · supports · Randomized placebo-controlled double-blind pilot in knee osteoarthritis · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    ### boron-fructoborate-inflammatory-markers The pilot reported improved CRP and other measured inflammatory markers with calcium fructoborate compared with placebo over about two weeks. Condition category: normal nutrient_topic: Boron research collection; topical membership is not evidence of a direct dietary effect. plain_language: The trial reported changes in blood markers; it did not show that damaged joints were rebuilt. organism: Human tissue_or_cell_type: Blood inflammatory markers experimental_model: Randomized placebo-controlled double-blind pilot in knee osteoarthritis limitations: Short pilot with attrition and biomarker outcomes; it does not establish cartilage repair, disease modification or equivalence of all boron compounds. exposure: Approximately 15 days calcium-fructoborate supplementation; 116 recruited, 72 started and 60 completed evidence_span: {"source_cache": "artifacts/boron-research/21607703.abstract.txt", "locator": "Exact primary indexed abstract; zero-based, end-exclusive Unicode character offsets", "file_sha256": "791318eaf72d7d13719549d6c655fa4023ebe6b5582776b785db1d403456a35d", "start_char": 0, "end_char": 1236, "text_sha256": "791318eaf72d7d13719549d6c655fa4023ebe6b5582776b785db1d403456a35d"} [boron-p21607703] A double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot study to evaluate the effect of calcium fructoborate on systemic inflammation and dyslipidemia markers for middle-aged people with primary osteoarthritis. (2011). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21607703/ DOI: 10.1007/s12011-011-9083-0
    Complete structured claim and evidence

In the sources

Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.

    This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.

    Evidence, AI assistance and curation standards