Component

Viability of SkBr3, HEK-293 and fibroblast cells

Viability measured across cancer and non-cancer lines in one experiment.

1 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.

How nutrients influence it

Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.

How nutrients reach it in more than one step

Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.

Tracing routes…

What it does

Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.

Recorded relationships

What acts on it

  1. Lariciresinol was tested for cellular toxicity and apoptosis induction in fibroblasts, HEK-293 cells and SkBr3 breast cancer cells, alongside podophyllotoxin and pinoresinol.

    Experimental context and source evidence
    duration
    24 and 48 hours
    evidence_access
    Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    experimental_model
    Human fibroblasts, HEK-293 and SkBr3 breast cancer cells
    exposure
    Lariciresinol at a range of concentrations for 24 and 48 hours
    limitations
    The abstract does not give the inhibitory concentrations for each line, so no selectivity between normal and cancer cells can be read from it here. SkBr3 is oestrogen receptor negative, so any activity in this line is independent of that receptor.
    organism
    Human fibroblasts, HEK-293 and SkBr3 breast cancer cells
    plain_language
    Lariciresinol was tested for cellular toxicity and apoptosis induction in fibroblasts, HEK-293 cells and SkBr3 breast cancer cells, alongside podophyllotoxin and pinoresinol.
    primary_references
    The Effect of Podophyllotoxin, Pinoresinol, and Lariciresinol on Cellular Toxicity and Apoptosis Induction in Fibroblast, HEK-293, and SkBr3 Cell Lines. (2024). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38322161/ DOI: 10.30476/IJMS.2023.97113.2939
    route
    In vitro
    tissue
    Cell viability by MTT, apoptosis by flow cytometry, cell cycle and apoptosis regulator gene expression by quantitative PCR

    Lariciresinol: five molecules under one name, and the mechanisms each one carries (2026-09-22) · lines 253–262

    Original AI-assisted curation of twelve primary studies, every abstract read and all DOIs cross-checked against live PubMed metadata. Mechanism edges only, with no conclusion or claim of benefit recorded. Three author clusters account for eight of the twelve and carry shared laboratory keys. Study-specific concentrations, negative findings and limitations retained. Not publisher full text. · supports · · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    ## lariciresinol-cytotoxicity-is-not-selective-for-cancer-cells Lariciresinol was tested for cellular toxicity and apoptosis induction in fibroblasts, HEK-293 cells and SkBr3 breast cancer cells, alongside podophyllotoxin and pinoresinol. Model/species: Human fibroblasts, HEK-293 and SkBr3 breast cancer cells Tissue/system: Cell viability by MTT, apoptosis by flow cytometry, cell cycle and apoptosis regulator gene expression by quantitative PCR Exposure: Lariciresinol at a range of concentrations for 24 and 48 hours Route: In vitro Duration: 24 and 48 hours Limits: The abstract does not give the inhibitory concentrations for each line, so no selectivity between normal and cancer cells can be read from it here. SkBr3 is oestrogen receptor negative, so any activity in this line is independent of that receptor. Primary reference: The Effect of Podophyllotoxin, Pinoresinol, and Lariciresinol on Cellular Toxicity and Apoptosis Induction in Fibroblast, HEK-293, and SkBr3 Cell Lines. (2024). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/38322161/ DOI: 10.30476/IJMS.2023.97113.2939 Access: Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    Complete structured claim and evidence

In the sources

Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.

    This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.

    Evidence, AI assistance and curation standards