Component

TRPV1-positive cutaneous sensory function

Species, preparation, dose and limitations are retained on linked claims.

1 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.

How nutrients influence it

Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.

How nutrients reach it in more than one step

Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.

Tracing routes…

What it does

Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.

Recorded relationships

What acts on it

  1. A 24-hour 8% capsaicin patch reduced warmth detection, heat pain, histamine itch and neurogenic flare, with little effect on touch or cold and near-complete sensory recovery by day 21.

    Capsaicin → TRPV1-positive cutaneous sensory function source_derived_draftungraded
    Experimental context and source evidence
    dose
    8% capsaicin patch for 1 or 24 hours
    duration
    1, 7 and 21 days after removal
    evidence_access
    Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    evidence_scope
    literature_reviewed; model-specific source-derived curation
    experimental_model
    Fourteen healthy human volunteers
    limitations
    This experimental 24-hour exposure exceeds ordinary patch use and does not establish efficacy in patients with neuropathic pain.
    nutrient_topic
    Capsaicin chapter; interacting nutrients, drugs, peptides and proteins retain their experimental settings. · Capsaicin
    organism
    Fourteen healthy human volunteers
    plain_language
    A 24-hour 8% capsaicin patch reduced warmth detection, heat pain, histamine itch and neurogenic flare, with little effect on touch or cold and near-complete sensory recovery by day 21.
    primary_references
    The time course of brief and prolonged topical 8% capsaicin-induced desensitization in healthy volunteers evaluated by quantitative sensory testing and vasomotor imaging. (2018). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29845449/ DOI: 10.1007/s00221-018-5299-y
    route
    Topical
    tissue
    Quantitative sensory testing and vasomotor imaging

    Capsaicin: mechanism of action and interactions (2026-09-20) · lines 88–97

    Original AI-assisted source-specific curation with primary-study citations, model, exposure, route, duration, negative findings and limitations preserved. Not publisher full text. · supports · Fourteen healthy human volunteers · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    ## capsaicin-skin-selectivity A 24-hour 8% capsaicin patch reduced warmth detection, heat pain, histamine itch and neurogenic flare, with little effect on touch or cold and near-complete sensory recovery by day 21. Model/species: Fourteen healthy human volunteers Tissue/system: Quantitative sensory testing and vasomotor imaging Exposure: 8% capsaicin patch for 1 or 24 hours Route: Topical Duration: 1, 7 and 21 days after removal Limits: This experimental 24-hour exposure exceeds ordinary patch use and does not establish efficacy in patients with neuropathic pain. Primary reference: The time course of brief and prolonged topical 8% capsaicin-induced desensitization in healthy volunteers evaluated by quantitative sensory testing and vasomotor imaging. (2018). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29845449/ DOI: 10.1007/s00221-018-5299-y Access: Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    Complete structured claim and evidence

In the sources

Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.

    This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.

    Evidence, AI assistance and curation standards