Component
Erinacine-A-containing Hericium mycelial extract
Species, preparation, dose and limitations are retained on linked claims.
2 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.
How nutrients influence it
Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.
Other things that act on it
Enzymes, hormones, genes, and other components with a recorded effect. These are not nutrients, so they do not count toward the arrows above. Each finding names the chapter that recorded it.
How nutrients reach it in more than one step
Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.
Tracing routes…
What it does
Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.
What it acts on
In rats, oral mycelial extract equivalent to 50 mg/kg erinacine A gave 24.39% estimated absolute bioavailability; erinacine A was detected in brain at 1 hour and peaked at 8 hours.
Experimental context and source evidence
- dose
- Oral extract equivalent to 50 mg/kg erinacine A; IV isolated erinacine A 5 mg/kg
- duration
- Up to the distribution/elimination interval
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- evidence_scope
- literature_reviewed; model-specific source-derived curation
- experimental_model
- Sprague-Dawley rats
- limitations
- Rat brain detection does not establish human blood-brain-barrier penetration; oral dosing used an extract.
- nutrient_topic
- Hericenones & Erinacines chapter; interacting nutrients, drugs, peptides and proteins retain their experimental settings. · Hericenones and erinacines
- organism
- Sprague-Dawley rats
- plain_language
- In rats, oral mycelial extract equivalent to 50 mg/kg erinacine A gave 24.39% estimated absolute bioavailability; erinacine A was detected in brain at 1 hour and peaked at 8 hours.
- primary_references
- Preclinical Bioavailability, Tissue Distribution, and Protein Binding Studies of Erinacine A, a Bioactive Compound from Hericium erinaceus Mycelia Using Validated LC-MS/MS Method. (2021). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34361662/ DOI: 10.3390/molecules26154510
- route
- Oral and intravenous
- tissue
- LC-MS/MS bioavailability and tissue distribution
Hericenones & Erinacines: mechanism of action and interactions (2026-09-20) · lines 110–119
Original AI-assisted source-specific curation with primary-study citations, model, exposure, route, duration, negative findings and limitations preserved. Not publisher full text. · supports · Sprague-Dawley rats · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
## hericenones-erinacines-erinacine-a-rat-pk In rats, oral mycelial extract equivalent to 50 mg/kg erinacine A gave 24.39% estimated absolute bioavailability; erinacine A was detected in brain at 1 hour and peaked at 8 hours. Model/species: Sprague-Dawley rats Tissue/system: LC-MS/MS bioavailability and tissue distribution Exposure: Oral extract equivalent to 50 mg/kg erinacine A; IV isolated erinacine A 5 mg/kg Route: Oral and intravenous Duration: Up to the distribution/elimination interval Limits: Rat brain detection does not establish human blood-brain-barrier penetration; oral dosing used an extract. Primary reference: Preclinical Bioavailability, Tissue Distribution, and Protein Binding Studies of Erinacine A, a Bioactive Compound from Hericium erinaceus Mycelia Using Validated LC-MS/MS Method. (2021). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34361662/ DOI: 10.3390/molecules26154510 Access: Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
Complete structured claim and evidenceIn a pilot 49-week double-blind trial, an erinacine-A-enriched mycelium product produced better selected cognitive and instrumental-activity outcomes than placebo; four participants stopped for gastrointestinal or skin symptoms.
Experimental context and source evidence
- dose
- Three 350 mg mycelium capsules/day containing 5 mg/g erinacine A
- duration
- 49 weeks
- evidence_access
- Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
- evidence_scope
- literature_reviewed; model-specific source-derived curation
- experimental_model
- Patients with mild Alzheimer's disease
- limitations
- Small pilot product trial with industry affiliations; findings cannot be assigned to isolated erinacine A, hericenones, or all lion's-mane products.
- nutrient_topic
- Hericenones & Erinacines chapter; interacting nutrients, drugs, peptides and proteins retain their experimental settings. · Hericenones and erinacines
- organism
- Patients with mild Alzheimer's disease
- plain_language
- In a pilot 49-week double-blind trial, an erinacine-A-enriched mycelium product produced better selected cognitive and instrumental-activity outcomes than placebo; four participants stopped for gastrointestinal or skin symptoms.
- primary_references
- Prevention of Early Alzheimer's Disease by Erinacine A-Enriched Hericium erinaceus Mycelia Pilot Double-Blind Placebo-Controlled Study. (2020). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32581767/ DOI: 10.3389/fnagi.2020.00155
- route
- Oral multi-constituent product
- tissue
- CASI, MMSE, IADL, imaging and biomarkers
Hericenones & Erinacines: mechanism of action and interactions (2026-09-20) · lines 154–163
Original AI-assisted source-specific curation with primary-study citations, model, exposure, route, duration, negative findings and limitations preserved. Not publisher full text. · supports · Patients with mild Alzheimer's disease · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft
## hericenones-erinacines-human-enriched-mycelium In a pilot 49-week double-blind trial, an erinacine-A-enriched mycelium product produced better selected cognitive and instrumental-activity outcomes than placebo; four participants stopped for gastrointestinal or skin symptoms. Model/species: Patients with mild Alzheimer's disease Tissue/system: CASI, MMSE, IADL, imaging and biomarkers Exposure: Three 350 mg mycelium capsules/day containing 5 mg/g erinacine A Route: Oral multi-constituent product Duration: 49 weeks Limits: Small pilot product trial with industry affiliations; findings cannot be assigned to isolated erinacine A, hericenones, or all lion's-mane products. Primary reference: Prevention of Early Alzheimer's Disease by Erinacine A-Enriched Hericium erinaceus Mycelia Pilot Double-Blind Placebo-Controlled Study. (2020). https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32581767/ DOI: 10.3389/fnagi.2020.00155 Access: Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
Complete structured claim and evidence
The events it takes part in
A mechanism often involves more than two components. These are the full events, with every participant and its role.
Situations it appears in
Low-supply and faulty-machinery situations recorded in the chapters where this component plays a part.
In the sources
Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.
Open hypotheses
Proposed ideas that involve this component. They are labeled as hypotheses and do not change any recorded statement.
This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.