Component

Carotid artery intima-media thickness

2 recorded relationships. Experimental role, claim status and evidence remain attached to each record.

How nutrients influence it

Every nutrient with a recorded effect on this component, credited to the nutrient that acted rather than the chapter that recorded it. Open a nutrient to see the findings and the conditions they were measured under.

How nutrients reach it in more than one step

Chains of two or more recorded steps that end here, grouped by the nutrient they start from. Each step is a separate finding, so a chain is a route a mechanism could take, not proof that it does.

Tracing routes…

What it does

Every recorded relationship this component is part of, grouped by its role. Plain wording comes first; the technical statement follows.

Recorded relationships

What acts on it

  1. The same cohort found nattokinase ineffective for lipids and atherosclerosis progression at 3,600 FU per day.

    Experimental context and source evidence
    duration
    12 months
    evidence_access
    Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    experimental_model
    Human (1,062 outpatients)
    exposure
    Nattokinase, 3,600 FU per day
    limitations
    Same design limitations. Recorded because it is the only dose-comparison in the chapter and because it sits directly against the three-year randomized null at 2,000 FU per day. PubMed links an erratum to this article.
    organism
    Human (1,062 outpatients)
    plain_language
    The same cohort found nattokinase ineffective for lipids and atherosclerosis progression at 3,600 FU per day.
    primary_references
    Effective management of atherosclerosis progress and hyperlipidemia with nattokinase: A clinical study with 1,062 participants. (2022) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36072877/ DOI: 10.3389/fcvm.2022.964977 Correction on record: Erratum in: Front Cardiovasc Med. 2022 Dec 05;9:1076420. doi: 10.3389/fcvm.2022.1076420. PMID 36545015.
    route
    In vivo, oral
    tissue
    Carotid artery imaging and blood lipids

    Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1159–1159

    Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (1,062 outpatients) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    The same cohort found nattokinase ineffective for lipids and atherosclerosis progression at 3,600 FU per day.
    Complete structured claim and evidence
  2. Over a median three years at 2,000 FU per day, the annualized rate of change in carotid intima-media thickness did not differ from placebo.

    Experimental context and source evidence
    duration
    Median 3 years
    evidence_access
    Primary PubMed abstract and indexed metadata reviewed. Full-text method details not stated here remain unresolved.
    experimental_model
    Human (265 randomized, median age 65.3, no clinical cardiovascular disease)
    exposure
    Nattokinase, 2,000 fibrinolytic units per day
    limitations
    Double-blinded and randomized, and by far the longest trial here. The null applies to this dose, this formulation, this low-risk population and these endpoints; it is not evidence that every product or dose is inert. It is also not an active-enzyme pharmacokinetic study.
    organism
    Human (265 randomized, median age 65.3, no clinical cardiovascular disease)
    plain_language
    Over a median three years at 2,000 FU per day, the annualized rate of change in carotid intima-media thickness did not differ from placebo.
    primary_references
    Nattokinase atherothrombotic prevention study: A randomized controlled trial. (2021) https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33843667/ DOI: 10.3233/CH-211147
    route
    In vivo, oral
    tissue
    Carotid artery ultrasound

    Nattokinase: what the purified enzyme cleaves, what survives being eaten, and the gap between the two (2026-09-23) · lines 1104–1104

    Original AI-assisted curation built from a supplied entity-first document of 105 entities and 129 claims. Every reference in that document was resolved against live PubMed with its abstract read and its DOI cross-checked on 2026-09-23, and the EFSA novel-food opinion was retrieved and read in full. That check corrected two PMIDs that pointed at unrelated papers, two DOIs, and two papers recorded as carrying no erratum that do carry one; it also reversed three findings the supplied document had stated backwards. Two papers carry a published correction, recorded as such and not as a retraction. Three sources are not indexed in PubMed and are cited by what they have. Laboratory lineages are recorded, so the four papers from one group, the three from another and the two readings of a single applicant dossier cannot be counted as separate lines of support. Study-specific doses, units, populations and limitations retained; activity units are never converted between systems. Not publisher full text. · supports · Human (265 randomized, median age 65.3, no clinical cardiovascular disease) · source_derived_draft · unverified_draft

    Over a median three years at 2,000 FU per day, the annualized rate of change in carotid intima-media thickness did not differ from placebo.
    Complete structured claim and evidence

In the sources

Preserved passages that mention this component, quoted exactly. Open one to read it in context.

    This is a research prototype built from draft material. It is not medical advice, and its statements still await verification against the original studies.